Strategist: December 2009 Archives
Strategist - The FindLaw Law Firm Business Blog

December 2009 Archives

Free Webcast: California Law Firm Shares Client Development Methods

David Klasing, owner of Tax Law Office of David W. Klasing, and Sally Janavicius, Senior Client Development with FindLaw, will co-host an upcoming webcast for attorneys titled "The Basics of Marketing Your Firm Online."

The free webcast, held Thursday, Jan. 14th, 2009, at 9 a.m. PST and 1 p.m. PST, will discuss how the Internet has transformed law firm marketing and provide strategies lawyers can use to connect with more clients online.

Register here (http://event.on24.com/r.htm?e=183307&s=1&k=B4ABAF56021C10844C3C78660C2A6BB8) for the 12PM EST/11AM CST/ 10AM MST/ 9AM PST time slot.

Register here (http://event.on24.com/r.htm?e=183310&s=1&k=6D95EA3D5D214F549A3B840D5E5E625E) for the 4PM EST/3PM CST/ 2PM MST/ 1PM PST time slot.

Online marketing is an increasingly key client-development tool for law firms. Three out of four Americans now use the Internet regularly. According to a 2008 Marketwire study, Search engines, like Google and Yahoo, have pulled ahead of printed yellow pages as the leading source for local business information.

The webcast will examine how consumers search for attorneys online, evaluate the marketing options available to law firms and indentify the critical components of a winning Internet strategy.

Will Litigate for Food: NJ AG Takes On Attorney Volunteers

It's almost like a lawyer joke, but slightly less amusing. The recession, said to be dying down, is still affecting jobs to the point where even those with years of schooling and the stamina to work an 80 hour week are out of work. To wit, lawyers. According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the number of unemployed lawyers jumped 66 percent last year, to a total of 20,000. In New Jersey, the state has come up with a good solution for keeping those out of work attorneys busy and off the street corners: be an attorney volunteer for the AG.