Block on Trump's Asylum Ban Upheld by Supreme Court
Whitney Houston's ex-husband Bobby Brown spent a few hours behind bars Monday after his arrest in connection with DUI, police said.
Brown, 43, was pulled over in Los Angeles' Reseda neighborhood about 12:20 p.m., when cops spotted him driving while talking on a cell phone without using a hands-free device, the Los Angeles Times reports. That's been illegal in California since 2009, according to the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Officers conducted a field sobriety test, which Brown allegedly failed, police said. So what punishments could Brown possibly face for his alleged cell-phone and DUI violations?
That will likely depend on how many DUI arrests appear on Bobby Brown's record. Monday's DUI arrest seems to be at least Brown's second DUI: He was convicted of DUI in Georgia in 1996 and served eight days in jail, gossip website TMZ reports.
But in California, where Brown was arrested, DUI offenses remain on a driver's record for only 10 years, according to the DMV. So Brown's DUI conviction in Georgia will not appear on his record, and will likely not be considered in sentencing if he's convicted.
In California, a driver's first DUI conviction is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine, six months in jail, and a six-month driver license suspension. Subsequent DUI offenses can lead to harsher penalties.
There are a few ways to challenge DUI arrests, such as challenging the accuracy of an alcohol breath test. In Monday's DUI arrest, Bobby Brown's breath test allegedly revealed a 0.12% blood-alcohol level, the website Gossip Cop reports. Police likely also took a blood sample for a more accurate test.
As for Brown's alleged cell phone violation, it appears he's off the hook for a possible citation. But in general, drivers face a $20 fine for a first cell-phone violation and a $50 fine for subsequent violations.
After Bobby Brown's DUI arrest, he posted an undisclosed amount of bail and remains free pending a court date.